Friday, June 25, 2010

Sharon Staz, KLPD head, named to Fact Finding Mission to Japan this July

Sharon Staz, General Manager of the Kennebunk Light and Power District (KLPD), has been selected to join the Solar Electric Power Association’s Fact Finding Mission to Japan this July. The mission, for utility decisions makers, will assemble in Tokyo and travel throughout Central Japan, ending in Kyoto.
The purpose of the mission is to provide opportunities to exchange information with Japanese utilities, solar integrators, technology researches and policy makers. The weeklong mission will include peer-to-peer, utility-to-utility meetings, residential and commercial rooftop PV installation visits, tours of research facilities, and meetings with leading solar manufacturers and project developers.
The delegation will visit the Ota City PV Demonstration Project, 2.13 Megawatt roof-mounted systems aggregated on 533 houses along with the Research Center for Photovoltaics and other installations.
KLPD’s general manager since 1998, Staz was named the Northeast Public Power Association’s (NEPPA) Person of the Year in 2008. NEPPA has 76 member utilities throughout the six New England states. Staz was elected to the American Public Power Association Board of Directors in 2004, becoming the first Maine person ever elected to serve on that board.
NEPPA also honored Staz with the prestigious Francis “Skip” Willey Jr. Individual Achievement Award in 1998. Staz currently serves as Secretary and Legislative Liaison for DIRIGO, the consumer-owned utility association of the state of Maine. In 2006 she served on the Governor’s Renewable Energy Task Force and the Governor’s Maine Energy Council.
Before coming to Kennebunk, Staz served 12 years as Manager of the Princeton (Mass.) Municipal Light Department where she received the American Public Power Associations’ Seven Hats Award in 1989 for outstanding service to the community.
Staz is currently Chair of the Northeast Power Association’s legislative committee and is a member of Kennebunk Energy Efficiency Committee.
Photo caption: Sharon Staz (Courtesy photo)