Friday, April 22, 2011

25th WOCSD Literary Achievement Award Winners Announced

The Wells-Ogunquit Community School District (WOCSD) will recognize sixty-five winners in this year’s 25th Literary Achievement Awards program at an awards night on April 28 at 6:30 p.m. in the Olenn Auditorium at Wells High School. Doors will open at 6:00 p.m. for the Silver Anniversary of the Awards.
In April, students from kindergarten through grade 12 received notification they had placed in the contest. Thirteen first place winners were named including Kathleen Pyburn, who will take home the top prize of $500 for her entry in the senior category entitled “A Someday Rendezvous.” Other first place winners will receive $100. Second place winners receive $50, third place receive $25 and honorable mentions receive gift certificates to the Steakhouse in Wells.
Entries for the contest, which can be either fiction or non-fiction, may be written in several styles including poetry, biographical, essay or short story.
This year’s first place winners include Alivia Boucher (kindergarten), Grace Boucher (1st grade), Hayden Barker (2nd), Hannah Bradish (3rd), Brianna Michaud-Nolan (4th), Madison Szcygiel (5th), Adia Montagna (6th), Talia Auen (7th), Julianne Fitzpatrick (8th), Corey Zinck (9th), Laura Kirol (10th), Patrick Menard (11th), and Kathleen Pyburn (12th). On April 28, first place winners are invited to read all or a portion of their writing before the audience.
In all, 236 entries were received. By means of a two-step judging process, that number was reduced to 84 by a group of “in-house” judges including Sue Olsson, Lil Connelly, Cheryl Oakes, Bob Sprankle, Betsy Littlefield, Karen Westerberg, Kim McDonough, Carolyn Beecher, Julie Esch, Cathy Abbott, Alice Meader, Lynn Mercier, Susan Condon, Liz Bell, Wendy Cowan, Becca Murphy, Jody Selsberg and Rebecca Follansbee.
On March 26, a panel of community judges gathered to determine the 65 winners. Outside judges included Marilyn Cate, Jack Ford, John Madden, Ina Toth, Ellen Aromando, Carolyn Walker, Connie Griffin, Mary Goulland and Diana Abbott.
This contest, sponsored by the Wells-Ogunquit Community School District and People’s United Bank, is coordinated by Maryanne Foley and Reg Bennett.
Students are encouraged to submit their winning entries to be posted on the District’s website, for public viewing. Awards night will also be videotaped and played on Time-Warner cable Channel 3 in Wells and Ogunquit at a time TBA.
Photo caption: This year’s community judges for the WOCSD Literary Achievement Awards 2011. (Photo by Reg Bennett)